Google Ads

Stratford-Upon-Avon Club Trial. 28th July.


Ben Hayes won the Midland Centre Youth Trial organised by the Stratford-Upon-Avon Club at Saintbury Quarry on Saturday.  Loosing just 14 marks, Hayes was only beaten by Adult Expert rider Guy Kenyon-Bell and was awarded the Dennis Hicken Trophy as the top Youth A.


Almost 60 riders entered the trial, boosted by ten younger competitors on small wheel machines who rode their own separate conducted sections. Alan Taylor only lost marks at section one which was a tight turn back across 'gnarly' tree roots, to take B route honours with six marks lost, two better than local rider Dave Fowler.


Top Youth B was ever-improving Aspen Hopkins on his Beta 80, who despite riding the smallest capacity machine in the class, cleaned the big vertical climb over tree roots at both section nine and ten every lap.

On the easier C route, David Jones lead the way on his Pre-65 Triumph losing just eight marks from Sandra Cotton in second place on her Gas Gas.


An encouraging entry of riders on the Conducted D route were led by Owen Moorman who cast away a solitary dab at section two which included more of the Saintbury tree roots. In second place was Malachy Rose on his Beta 80. George Clarke held on to the top spot in the Centre Championship with a fine third place riding his 30 year old TY80.


The E route was won by Jedd Perry in his very first trial riding a 125 Beta although maximum championship points were awarded to four year old Ethan Richardson on his Oset who lost 59 marks, just a handful less than Tabatha Barnett also aged four on her small wheel Oset.


Report by: Pete Barnett


Stratford-Upon-Avon MCC
Dennis Hicken Youth Trial. Saintbury Quarry. Saturday 28th July.

Youth A: B.Hayes (Gas Gas) 14, O.Humprhis (Beta) 15.
Youth B: A.Hopkins (Beta) 13, M.Hayes (Gas Gas) 22, L.Calado (Gas Gas) 87.
Youth C: S.Rose (Beta) 87.
Youth D: O.Moorman (Beta) 1, M.Rose (Beta) 16 mc, G.Clarke (Yamaha) 16.
Youth E: J.Perry (Beta) 54, E.Richardson (Oset) 59, T.Barnett (Oset) 95.
Adult A: G.Kenyon-Bell (Gas Gas) 9, T.Jones (Montesa) 26, C.Wickham (Beta) 31.
Adult B: A.Taylor (Scorpa) 6, D.Fowler (Beta) 8, D.Morris (Jotagas) 14.
Adult C: D.Jones (Triumph) 8, Sandra Cotton (Gas Gas) 18, R.Wakelin (Beta) 18.

Go Social

Join us on Facebook!
follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Instagram

Site Sponsor

bike tours for the wounded