Manchester 17 MCC 39th National Dave Rowland Trial

manchester17Richard Sadler (Acklams Beta) retuned to winning ways as he secured his second victory in the 39th Running of the Dave Rowland Trophy Trial, hosted by The Manchester 17 MCC Ltd


Seventy Four riders tackled the 1 lap 40 section course set in the heart of the Peak District in beautiful conditions. The club were faced with the task of re-routing the trial at the eleventh hour after a request to stay off the moors by the land owners following the on-going moorland fires in the neighbouring areas of Saddleworth & Winter Hill. Credit to the hard working club members who ultimately stopped the trial from being called off.


Just three Expert riders had entered, with a number of regulars absent attending Splat Shop’s Tim’s Stag Do. Of the 3 that entered it was a battle between long standing rivals and good Friends Richard Sadler & Richard Timperley (JST GAS GAS) who were looking to fend off the challenge from Tom Moss (Stiles Gas Gas). The trio were clean until section 6, Ben’s Ditch where Tom would drop an unfortunate 5. That left Sadler and Timperley to fight over the win and the first marks dropped by the pair at section 35 Milkingsteads. Sadler managed to drop just the 1 mark with Timperley dropping 5. Timperley dropped another single mark on section 38 to leave Sadler to take his second Dave Rowland Trophy Trial victory after his debut win in 2016.


The 50/50 route was closely fought with the top 11 riders covered by just seven marks. Daniel Clarke (Beta) made the journey north from High Wycombe to take the win, after a shakey start with a 3 on section 6, he kept his cool dropping a further 4 marks to snatch the win away from Steve Bird (TRS) who’s 5 on a tricky section in Manor Rocks cost him dearly. Neil Savage (Gas Gas) would hold the bragging rights of South Yorkshire as he tied with Bird for second and a single mark ahead of Darren Wasley (Gas Gas) who in turn was 1 mark ahead of Sam Clarke on the TY Yam, proving it not all about modern machinery. Billy Craig (Montesa) rounded out the top 6 tied with Clarke. Katy Sunter (JST Gas Gas) making a recent return to action after a 6 week injury lay off to finish 9th.


The Clubman class was well supported with forty-four finishers. Steven Davies (Team 6t9 Gas Gas) used all his local knowledge as he secured victory, a single dab on a steep rocky climb in plantation was coupled with a surprising 3 at Milkingsteads in a section known as tin can alley. It was enough to see off the challenge from Mike Leddy (Beta) who dropped 5 single dabs and using all his years of experience, along with Davies was one of only 4 riders to clean the tricky group of sections at Manor Rocks the other riders being Matt Treweek (Sherco) and Marty Hill (Team 6t9 Gas Gas) Stuart Morewood (Beta) ended the day 3rd dropping 8, with Greg Moor (TRS) a further mark behind on 9 after dropping 3 at section 25 at Manor Rocks. Andres Cook (TRS) tied with Moor on 9 with Mike Edwards (Base Camp Gas Gas) rolling back the years with a well deserved 6th after a period away from the sport. Treweek, Mark Timperly (Beta), Stefan Walters & Ian Haigh (Honda) all within 5 marks of Edwards to round out the top 10. One notable retiree, former winner Toby Eyre aboard his immaculate Majesty Yam who suffered a snapped kick start.


pdf Download Full Results (79 KB)


Report: Marty Hill