Yorkshire Classic MCC Pre-unit Championship

yorkshire classic mccThe summer paused on Sunday morning as stair-rod rains made the plantation near Greetland as slippery as ever in the hollows and on the leave covered roadside slope. Dave ‘Stav’ Ingram on his big Ariel dropped only 8 to gain his revenge over last year’s winner Carl Winstanley, also Ariel mounted, by a whopping 11 marks. Only 2 riders remained in single figures for the day with Nick Jefferies on his Bantam parting with a single dab in the mud on section 5, well ahead of Steve Thomas (Bantam) and the other lightweights.


As the prolonged rain penetrated the tree cover, the ground became slippery and the mud in the hollows was regenerated. Section 5 on was first to cause the riders major problems taking marks from the entire entry. Of the heavy weights, it was rigid Ariel mounted John Feather that came out top losing 5. Only four of the riders on lightweights managed to better that score.


The cross cambers at section 8 proved almost as tricky with Ingram and Tony Davidson on his cross breed AJS with Matchless tank logos losing a single dab each. Only Jefferies and Cub mounted David Wilkinson stayed clean here.

Section ten is notorious at Greetland and Sunday’s line again proved tricky. The tight turn between rocks before a sharp climb and cambered roots exit. Only the top two riders stayed feet up and Dave White gave his all as he threw man and machine at the ends cards in rib bruising style.


Thankfully the rain had abated by the end of the trial and we say a special thanks to the full complement of wet observers who were thankful of that. Although a little harder than intended by Clerks of the Course Neil Anderton and Bernard Whittaker, the majority agreed that the ten sections made a great day out for a Pre Unit event.




Pre-Unit Springers


Dave Ingram (Ariel) 8, Carl Winstanley (Ariel) 19, Tony Davidson (AJS) 30.


Pre-Unit Rigid

John Feather (Ariel) 34.


Twin Cylinder

Malc Cocking (Triumph) 26, Dave White (Triumph) 57, John Patefield (Triumph) 58.


Vintage 2 stroke Springer

Neil Anderton (James) 82.


Just for fun – non competitive

Nick Jefferies (Bantam) 1, Steve Thomas (Bantam) 16, Alan Mills (Bantam) 17, Phil Clarkson (Bantam) 18, Dave Wilkinson (Cub) 20.