Red Rose Classic National Twinshock Trial

dave thorpe rr twinshockRed Rose Classic MCC's round of the KIA National Twinshock Championship attracted some of the top riders in the country - and it showed in the results.

There were some great performances in all the expert classes, with seven riders all finishing the day on zero penalties.


The Colne-based club, which caters for pre-65's and air-cooled, drum-braked twinshocks, laid out a superb two-lap 20 section route along the stream that runs through Shaws Farm at Feniscowles, Blackburn.


And they were rewarded with a healthy entry of 89 riders comprising many of the front-runners in the NTC and some of the top north-west competitors, including former world champion Yrjo Vesterinen, motocross legend Dave Thorpe and former Pre-65 Scottish winner Paul Heys.


In the experts category, class one was a three-way fight, with Steve Bird (Yamaha) and Nigel Scott (Honda) both cleaning the route to edge out Colin Ward (Yahama) on one mark.


David Bell on his Merlin produced a wizard performance to drop just one mark and claim class two from Martin Beech (Ossa, 8 marks) and Stu Melling (Bultaco, 32).


Class three was a hotly-contested affair with three riders out of 15 finishing on zero - Vesterinen (Bultaco), Chris Gascoigne (Bultaco) and Ben Butterworth (Fantic).


Vale of Towy rider and National Twinshock regular David Carter had to settle for fourth place despite an outstanding ride on his Fantic with only one dab.


It was a tight finish in class four too, with the Tiger Cubs of Dave Thorpe and John Maxfield both clean throughout the day, ahead of Paul Heys, who dropped just two marks.


The hugely-popular clubmans route attracted over half the entry with class wins for Colin Ward Jnr (Honda), Phil Clarkson (Bultaco), David Braithwaite (Suzuki) and Steve Thomas (Bantam)


Round four of the KIA National Twinshock Championship is on July 26 at Aggs Hill, Cheltenham organised by Zona1 MCC.


Red Rose would like to thank the officials, observers and the landowner, and their next event is on July 19 at Walsden, near Todmorden (behind the Gordon Rigg Garden Centre) nearest postcode is OL14 6QY.





Class 1: Steve Bird (Yamaha) 0, Nigel Scott (Honda) 0, Colin Ward (Yamaha) 1.

Class 2: David Bell (Merlin) 1, Martin Beech (Ossa) 8, Stu Melling (Bultaco) 32.

Class 3: Yrjo Vesterinen (Bultaco) 0, Chris Gascoigne (Bultaco) 0, Ben Butterworth (Fantic) 0.

Class 4: Dave Thorpe (Cub) 0, John Maxfield (Cub) 0, Paul Heys (Cub) 2.



Class 1: Colin Ward Jnr (Yamaha) 1, Gerry Minshull (Honda) 2, Clive Smith (Yamaha) 2

Class 2: Phil Clarkson (Bultaco) 1, Tim Bell (Merlin) 4, Adrian Kent (Bultaco) 6.

Class 3: David Braithwaite (Suzuki) 0, Paul Cook (SWM) 0, Kevin Miller (Fantic) 1.

Class 4: Steve Thomas (Bantam) 0, Paul Stephen (DOT) 0, Alan Mills (Bantam) 5.


pdf Download Full Results (172 KB)